Archive for April, 2011


Open Dance Call for Red Dress Entertainment Production

April 29, 2011


Canadian Federation of Musicians Launches new Name and Suite of Services

April 26, 2011

On May 11th and 12th the Canadian Federation of Musicians and the Newfoundland and Labrador Musicians’ Association (CFM Local 820) will be hosting three events to celebrate the launch of their new name and suite of services.


CFM invites representatives of media, government, arts organizations, musicians and other artists to join them Wednesday, May 11th at 1 PM at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. there they will launch the new Canadian federation name and announce a suite of local services that will help working musicians in Newfoundland and Labrador meet the challenges of the twenty first century. CFM Executive Director Alan Willaert will be in attendance as well as the NL Musicians’ Association Board of Directors.


CFM will follow up the press conference with a free Musicians Rights and Services Workshop the following day at the Gower Street United Church. That event will take place from 10 AM to 3 PM on Thursday, May 12th. The workshop is open to everyone. Pre-registration is recommended by calling 709-722-8005 or by email:


The Newfoundland and Labrador Musicians’ Association will present Members in Concert at the Gower Street United Church on Thursday, May 12th at 8 PM.

Performers include The Idlers, Sean Panting, John Cossar, Neil Conway, Rozalind MacPhail, Fergus Brown-O’Byrne & Charlotte Malischewski

Concert tickets: $12 in advance (at Fred’s or O’Brien’s Music), $15 at the door.

More information about the individual events will follow. For details or interviews, please contact Dan Rubin at 709-722-8005 or email


MusicNL congratulates Seven Newfoundland and Labradorians for receiving 6 ECMA awards in Charlottetown Prince Edward Island.

April 20, 2011

Music Awards:

Idlers – World Recording of the Year

The Once – Group Recording of the Year

Rik Barron – Children’s Recording of the Year

Ennis – Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year

Duane Andrews & Dwayne Cote – Jazz Recording of the Year

Industry Awards:

Shelley Chase – Manager of the Year

Chris Smith – Visual Artist of the Year

Congratulations to all ECMA nominees and winners this year. For more information on ECMA 2011or for a full listing of ECMA 2011 award winners please see


Music Newfoundland and Labrador present 17 acts for ECMA 2011 in Charlottetown

April 12, 2011

During the 2011 East Coast Music Awards in Charlottetown, Music Newfoundland and Labrador will present 17 Newfoundland and Labrador acts over three nights on the MIAFest stages on April 14, 15, and 16. MIAFest is a partnership between the ECMA’s and the MIAs (music industry associations) of all four Atlantic Provinces (Music New Brunswick, Music Nova Scotia, Music PEI, and Music Newfoundland & Labrador). MIAFest will host three evenings of incredible showcases during the East Coast Music Awards in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, featuring a great selection of some of the best acts from each provincial MIA.

For a full listing of all MIA acts please see

Thursday April 14 – Murphy Community Centre

10:30 – 10:50 – The Once (NL)
12:30 – 12:50 – The Dardanelles (NL)

Friday April 15 – Murphy Community Centre

9:30 – 9:50 – Amelia Curran (NL)
11:30 – 11:50 – Mark Bragg (NL)
1:30 – 1:50 – Repartee (NL)

Saturday April 16 – The Club at The Delta Prince Edward

12:00 – 12:30 – Terry Penney
12:40 – 1:10 – The Domestics
1:20 – 1:50 – Allan Ricketts

Saturday, April 16 – Selkirk at The Delta Prince Edward

5:00 – 5:20 – Mountains and the Trees
5:30 – 5:50 – Mary Barry
6:00 – 6:20 – Evry 7th
6:30 – 6:50 – Andrew O’Brien
7:00 – 7:20 – Jerry Stamp/Ian Foster
7:30 – 7:50 – Duane Andrews/Dwayne Cote

Saturday April 16 – Murphy Community Centre

9:00 – 9:20 – Hey Rosetta (NL)
10:30 – 10:50 – Matthew Hornell (NL)
12:30 – 12:50 – Pathological Lovers (NL)

Please note all MusicNL members will be financially supported to attend ECMA’s thanks to the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador.


Lunchtime Concert Series Call for Expressions of Interest

April 12, 2011

Every Friday from Canada Day to Labour Day, the City of St. John’s provides free outdoor lunchtime concerts to the citizens and visitors of St. John’s. The concert series is designed to provide an eclectic mix of genres that represents the music of the City. Bands or ensembles interested in performing are asked to submit:

• CD or DVD’s

• Band bio’s and photographs

• List of all instruments and vocals

• Support materials such as posters, reviews etc. may also be submitted

• Full contact information

Please note the City does not accept email or social media submissions. Late or incomplete submissions will not be considered by the Jury. Submissions must be received at our offices at 348 Water Street, no later than Friday April 29, 2011 at 4:00 p.m. to:

Rhonda Rose-Colbert
Department of Economic Development, Tourism, and Culture
City of St. John’s
348 Water St.
St. John’s, NL A1C 5M2

For further information phone 576-8394 or


NLAC Arts Awards Tickets now on Sale

April 8, 2011

Tickets: St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre box office
Price: $20
Phone: 729-3900
Date: Saturday, April 30, 2011
Time: 8 p.m.
Venue: Reid Theatre (MUN Campus, St. John’s)


Kellylee Evans Wins 2011 JUNO Award

April 1, 2011

Kellylee Evans has won Canada’s 2011 Juno Award for Vocal Jazz Album of the Year. The album, entitled Nina (Plus Loin Music), is a tribute to jazz great Nina Simone. Other nominees for the 2011 award included Emilie-Claire Barlow, Nikki Yanofsky, Laila Biali and the late Jeff Healey. This was the Ottawa-based singer-songwriter’s second Juno Award nomination and first win.

“It was an honour to be nominated alongside such talented artists,” said Evans. “And I am extremely grateful to have won the award with an album that pays tribute to Nina Simone.”

Evans recorded Nina in France in November, 2009. French label Plus Loin Music had invited Evans to spend two days in their studio. Shortly after its release, Nina reached the top of the iTunes Jazz charts. The album received critical acclaim and soon Evans was earning accolades for her charismatic performances as she toured the album. In February 2011, Evans was nominated for 2011 Juno Vocal Jazz Album of the Year. She is at work planning her follow-up release slated for 2012.

Evans, who in 2010 also released an alt-soul album of originals titled The Good Girl, was a 2007Juno and Gemini nominee and was awarded second place in the Thelonious Monk Jazz Vocals Competition in 2004 by judges Quincy Jones and Dee Dee Bridgewater. Evans has toured North America and France opening for such luminaries as Tony Bennett, George Benson, Maceo Parker, Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, Chris Botti and Derek Trucks.

%d bloggers like this: