Archive for the ‘Performers’ Category


This Week in Short: January 18th 2011

January 18, 2011
  • Matt Andersen Cleans up at Maple Blues Awards – 2010 WIJBF performer Matt Andersen won two Maple Blues awards yesterday. Find out more here.
  • Arts and Culture Centre St. Johns Newsletter – Are you signed up to the Arts & Culture Centre St. John’s Newsletter? View this weeks issue here
  • Community Sector Council Volunteer Luncheon – The Volunteer Luncheon is being held on February 3rd at the Royal Canadian Legion. Find out more here
  • ECMA 2011 Music & Industry Awards – Nominations being announced Thursday, Jan 20, 10am at Studio 1, Confed Centre of the Arts, Charlottetown! Visit the ECMA site to keep up to date
  • Are you a Writer? – The Writers Union of Canada is running a professional development workshop on “Secure Footing in a Changing Literary Landscape”. Find out more here
  • All the President’s Jazz 2010 – Each year jazz journalist John Anderson sends a compilation of the years jazz to President Obama. See his list here
  • City of St. John’s Grants to Artists deadline is January 31st. – Click here for details
  • Marsalis family named Jazz Masters – Jazz pianist Ellis Marsalis Jr. and four of his accomplished musician sons – Wynton, Branford, Delfeayo and Jason – have received the highest jazz honour in the U.S. Click here for the full story

Brad Jefford Trio With Special Guests Sandy Morris & Jenny Gear at the Ship

November 24, 2010


Congratulations to 2010 WIJBF Performer Alex Cuba on his Latin Grammy win

November 17, 2010

Watch the video of Alex winning the New Artist Latin Grammy.


Fourteenth Annual Maple Blues Awards: Nominees

November 1, 2010

Entertainer Of The Year


Johnny Max Band

Matt Andersen

Monkey Junk

Shakura S’Aida

Electric Act Of The Year

David Gogo


Jack de Keyzer

Jimmy Bowskill Band

Monkey Junk

Matt Andersen During the 2010 Wreckhouse Jazz & Blues Festival

Acoustic Act Of The Year

Braithwaite & Whiteley

Harrison Kennedy

Harry Manx

Little Miss Higgins

Matt Andersen

Male Vocalist Of The Year

Bob Walsh

Duane Blackburn (Blackburn)

Harrison Kennedy

Jim Byrnes

John Mays (Fathead)

2010 WIJBF Performer and Maple Blues Award Nominee Treassa Levassuer

Female Vocalist Of The Year

Dawn Tyler Watson

Erin McCallum

Robin Bank$

Shakura S’Aida

Treasa Levasseur

New Artist/Group Of The Year

Arsen Shomakhov

Chris Antonik

Erin McCallum

Hupman Brothers

Mike “Shrimp Daddy” Reid

BB King International Artist Of The Year

Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi Band

Duke Robillard

Janiva Magness

JJ Grey & Mofro

Mavis Staples

Recording Of The Year

Brown Sugar (Ruf), Artist: Shakura S’Aida, Producer: Jim Gaines

I Need A Hat (Linus), Artist: Downchild, Producer: Don Walsh

Love, Lost and Found (Electro-Fi), Artist: Mel Brown, Producers: Mel Brown, Alec Fraser & Andrew Galloway

Midnight Memphis Sun (NorthernBlues), Artist: JW-Jones, Producer: JW-Jones

Things About Comin’ My Way-A Tribute To The Music Of The Mississippi Sheiks (Black Hen), Artists: Various Artists, Producer: Steve Dawson

Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Alec Fraser

Chris Whiteley

Danny Brooks

Ellen McIlwaine

Joe Murphy

Ken Whiteley

Michael Fonfara

Paul James

Rita Chiarelli

Stephen Barry

Terry Wilkins

Tom Lavin

Guitar Player Of The Year

Garrett Mason

Jack de Keyzer

Steve Dawson

Teddy Leonard (Fathead)

Tony D (Monkey Junk)

Harmonica Player Of The Year

David Rotundo

Guy Bélanger (Bob Walsh)

Paul Reddick

Roly Platt (Buttery & Platt)

Steve Marriner (Monkey Junk)

Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year

Graham Guest

Julian Fauth

Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne

Lance Anderson (Shakura S’Aida)

Michael Fonfara (Downchild)

Horn Player Of The Year

Al Lerman (Fathead)

Chris Murphy (Maple Blues Revue)

Chris Whiteley

Johnny Johnson (Johnny Max Band)

Pat Carey (Downchild)

Drummer Of The Year

Bucky Berger (Fathead)

Chris Nordquist (Jim Byrnes)

Geoff Arsenault (Easley Stevenson Arsenault)

Matt Sobb (Monkey Junk)

Vince Maccarone (Johnny Max Band)

Bassist Of The Year

Alan Duffy (Jack de Keyzer)

Alec Fraser (Fraser Daley)

Brandi Disterheft (Women’s Blues Revue Band)

Gary Kendall (Downchild)

Keith Picot (Twisters)

Songwriter Of The Year

Harry Manx

Jolene “Little Miss” Higgins

Paul Reddick & Colin Linden

Sue Foley & Peter Karp

Treasa Levasseur


2010 WIJBF Festival Performer Matt Andersen in Europe & Nominated for Music New Brunswick Award

October 7, 2010

2010 Wreckhouse International Jazz and Blues Festival Performer Matt Andersen is currently in the middle of a European tour. Check out the video below to see some of his performance from the Loft in Kinloss Scotland.

Matt has also been nominated for a Music New Brunswick award. You can vote for him at . Why not give him a vote and support this wonderful musician.


Photos of Jeanne Rochette Performance at the 2010 WIJBF

October 1, 2010

Jeanne Rochette gave a wonderful performance at the Masonic Temple during the 2010 Wreckhouse International Jazz & Blues Festival. Here are a small selection of photographs from the night;


Photos From the Morgan Davis Performance During the 2010 WIJBF

September 30, 2010

Morgan Davis played an active role in the 2010 Wreckhouse Jazz and Blues Festival with a performance at Bowring Park Amphitheatre, Fat Cat Blues Bar and a workshop at Dusk Ultralounge. Her are a few photographs from the various events,

%d bloggers like this: