The Atlantis Music Prize Short List Announced

December 9, 2010

The Music Industry Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (MusicNL) is proud to announce that 7 MusicNL supported artists or groups received a nod for The Scope’s Atlantis Music Prize Short List for 2010.

These artists include Duane Andrews and Dwayne Côté – Duane Andrews and Dwayne Côté, Gramercy Riffs – It’s Heartbreak, Idlers – Keep Out, Matthew Hornell and the Diamond Minds – Matthew Hornell and the Diamond Minds, Pathological Lovers – Calling All Favours, Sherman Downey – Honey For Bees and The Subtitles – Quick and Painless.

The Atlantis Music Prize is a juried award for Newfoundland and Labrador album of the year, judged on artistic merit, without regard to sales or genre. An independent group of more than 30 journalists, musicians, and people recognized for their love of local music submitted their choices for the best Newfoundland and Labrador album released between November 1, 2009 and October 31, 2010. The winning album, decided by a group of six judges, will be announced on Thursday, December 16th at the Rock House in St. John’s. The winner gets 1,000 bucks to spend however they wish.

For more information visit www.atlantismusicprize.ca

MusicNL would like to acknowledge the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador for their investment in the provincial music industry.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: